Irish Horse Board

The Irish Horse Board is a co-operative society with more than 32,000 shareholders historically. An individual member is deemed to be an Active IHB Shareholder if he/she has transacted any IHB shareholder business in any of the three calendar years immediately proceeding the current reference year.

The Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Irish Horse Board Co-operative Society is Mr Tiernan Gill and the Director General & Secretary is Ms Nadia Rea. The current Board Members of the Irish Horse Board are:

  • Tiernan Gill (Chairman) [Region 4]
  • Comdt Geoff Curran [Region 1]
  • Mr Helen Kelly [Region 1]
  • Ms Marguerite Ryan [Region 2]
  • Ms Marion Hughes (Vice Chairperson) [Region 2]
  • Ms Elizabeth Deane [Region 3]
  • Mr Pat McCarthy [Region 3]
  • Mr Liam Lynskey [Region 4]
  • Dr Jack Murphy [Ministers nominee]
  • Mr Neil Henry [Region 5]
  • Mr Gerry Flynn [Region 5]


The Irish Horse Board Co-operative Society Ltd. was established in 1993 and began operations in 1994.  Following discussions with the Department of Agriculture & Food, a programme for development was agreed. The principal aspects of the programme are:

  • A financial basis was established for the Co-operative and shares are being offered at a rate of €10 per share
  • There is an Annual Renewal fee in subsequent years:
  • Online renewal prior to 31st May 2020 €25
  • Online renewal after 31st May 2020 €30
  • Renewal not completed online €35
  • Each shareholder will have only one vote, irrespective of the number of shares held
  • It is not envisaged that shares will appreciate in value



Horse Sport Ireland no longer process IHB Membership applications from January 1st.  Horse Sport Ireland also no longer provides discounts on passport registration costs.  As the Irish Horse Board is a separate entity to Horse Sport Ireland, any IHB shareholder should contact the Irish Horse Board with any queries relating to their individual membership.


The contact email address is