Irish Horse Board

Irish Horse Board logoThe Irish Horse Board is a co-operative society with over 17,000 shareholders. The Society has maintained the Irish Horse Register, incorporating the Irish Sport Horse Studbook and the Irish Draught Horse Studbook, since 1993. In late 2006, Horse Sport Ireland was established to bring the sport, breeding and leisure sides of the Sport Horse Sector together.

In 2008 a Special General Meeting of the Irish Horse Board Co-operative Society approved the Irish Horse Board’s integration with Horse Sport Ireland. As a result, the Board of Directors of the Irish Horse Board plus three co-optees from the Northern Ireland Horse Board, the Connemara Pony Breeders Society and the Irish Pony Society, became the Breeding Sub-Board of Horse Sport Ireland.

In 2008 the maintenance of the Irish Horse Register became the legal responsibility of Horse Sport Ireland. All of the former Irish Horse Board staff now work for Horse Sport Ireland and are based in Horse Sport Ireland’s offices in Naas. The Breeding Sub-Board of Horse Sport Ireland now has responsibility for breeding policy and allocates the budget for breeding programmes in line with the budget set by the Board of Directors of Horse Sport Ireland.

As part of the affiliation with Horse Sport Ireland, all current members of the Co-operative continue to receive a discount on their breeding registration fees. The Co-operative fulfils an important election role in electing 13 members of the Breeding Sub-Board of Horse Sport Ireland. The Co-operative also nominates 5 directors to the Main Board of Horse Sport Ireland. The Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Irish Horse Board Co-operative Society is Dr Jack Murphy and the Director General & Secretary is Mrs Laura Skelton. The current Board Members of the Irish Horse Board are:

  • Dr Jack Murphy (Chairman) [Minister’s Nominee]
  • Mr Jim Beecher [Minister’s Nominee]
  • Ms Helen Kelly [Region 1]
  • Mr Edward Doyle [Region 1]
  • Ms Barbara Hatton [Region 2]
  • Ms Marion Hughes [Region 2]
  • Ms Elizabeth Deane [Region 3]
  • Mr Pat McCarthy [Region 3]
  • Mr Liam Lynskey [Region 4]
  • Ms Kathleen Gielty-Cunney [Region 4]
  • Mr Neil Henry (Vice Chairman) [Region 5]
  • Mr John A Cogan [Region 5]

Region 1 – Wicklow, Louth, Kildare, Laois, Offaly, Meath, Westmeath, Dublin Region 2 – Tipperary, Wexford, Carlow, Kilkenny Region 3 – Waterford, Kerry, Limerick, Cork Region 4 – Mayo, Galway, Clare Region 5 – Donegal, Sligo, Leitrim, Cavan, Monaghan, Longford, Roscommon The registered address is Irish Horse Board Co-operative Society Limited, 1st Floor, Beech House, Millennium Park, Osberstown, Naas, Co. Kildare.

The Industrial and Provident Societies Acts 1893-1978 (as amended)

Irish Horse Board Co-operative Society Limited

(“the Society”)


Notice is hereby given that the Annual General Meeting of the above Society will be held at 7.30pm (check-in opens at 7pm) at the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, Abbeyleix, Co. Laois on Monday 10th December 2018.


  1. To approve the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Society held on 6th December 2017.
  2. To receive the Chairman’s statement.
  3. To receive and adopt the financial statements for 2017 and the auditor’s report thereon.
  4. To appoint the auditor.
  5. Any other business.

Please note that copies of the 2017 financial statements are available on request to IHB members by contacting 045 854523 or alternatively by email to: Check-in for the AGM will open at 7pm.

By Order of the Board,

Signed: Laura Skelton, Director General

Dated: 17th November 2018


Shareholders in the Irish Horse Board are entitled to discounts on a range of passport services with Horse Sport Ireland.