AIRC shortlist announced for eighth annual Lancelot awards

  • 15 January 2015, 16:44

THE shortlist of nominees for the eighth annual Association of Irish Riding Clubs Lancelot Awards has been confirmed.

There are four categories of awards on offer including the club of the year, club secretary of the year, club member of the year and also the person of the year award.

These awards recognise the efforts of our volunteer members who perform their duties with the utmost of diligence while organising or helping at club, regional or national events.

The award recipients will be determined by a voting process that will allow a jury decide 50% of the vote while the remaining 50% will be cast by the registered clubs of the Association. Each club will be issued with details on how to vote shortly and they’re asked to list 1 to 4 in each category in order of the clubs preference.

A.I.R.C. chairman Tony Ennis said, “it is only right that we, as an organisation, recognise the immense contribution our volunteers make each year and our Lancelot Awards allow us to do that on behalf of our members.”

“I would like to wish all of our nominees the very best of luck during the voting process and look forward to meeting them all at our awards ceremony next month.”

The results will be announced at the Association’s Annual General Meeting on Saturday 14th February.

This year’s nominees include:


Club of the Year:

  • Clonough Riding Club
  • Dunamase Riding Club
  • Earl’s Well Riding Club
  • Waterford Riding Club


Club Secretary of the Year:

  • Eileen O’Neill (Clonough)
  • Fiona O’Rourke (Clonshire)
  • Niamh Rothwell (Tinahely)
  • Ruth Whelan (Abbeylands)


Club Member of the Year:

  • Fionnuala Brennan (Waterford)
  • Fiona Coughlan (Earl’s Well)
  • Angela Day (Cheval)
  • Lawrence Smyth (Donegal Gaeltacht)


Person of the Year:

  • Mary Bradley (Kerry)
  • Aishling Bradwell (Cheval)
  • Dan Foley (Non Member)
  • Paddy Carroll (Ballyteague)

Further information on each nominee will be available on once the voting papers have been distributed.