• 20 July 2014, 16:06

The seventh leg of the Irish Sport Horse Studbook Showjumping Series 2014 took place this weekend at The Meadows, County Armagh. The classes attracted 52 Five Year Olds, 35 Six Year Olds and 14 Seven Year Olds for Saturday’s qualifiers. There was €9,500 in prize money on offer for these young horse classes from Horse Sport Ireland over the two days of competition at The Meadows.

Former World Champion Dermott Lennon and Caspian (ISH) won the Seven Year Old final of the Irish Sport Horse Studbook Show Jumping Series at The Meadows.

Caspian is a 2007 gelding by Lux Z (HANN) out of Thirza (KWPN), by Burggraaf (HOLST). The breeder is Andries de Bont of Cork, while the owner is Allan Davidson.

The Six Year Old  final was won by Thomas O’Brien riding Mini Cruzano (ISH), a 2008 mare by Silvano (KWPN) out of Hyundai Santa Fe (ISH), by Cruising (ISH). The breeder is Oliver Walsh of Galway, and the owner Leona Walsh.

Ten horses shared the top spot in the 5 Year Old Final. These classes are not decided by a jump off to avoid young horses being pushed against the clock. The prizes are shared between the horses that jump a second clear within a prescribed time.

Full results including breeding information are detailed below.

5 Year Old Final:

No Horse Sex Sire Dam Sire of Dam Breeder Owner Rider
=1st Ard Ginger Pop (ISH) M Luidam (KWPN) Derrylea Greylady (ISH) Cruising (ISH) Heather Dean-Wright, Meath Sharon Fitzpatrick Ger O’Neill
=1st Beech Hill Lucia (ISH) M Luidam (KWPN) Felice de Champeix (ISH) Not recorded Alex Tracy, Dublin Heike Tracy Jenny Rankin
=1st Carllava (ISH) M Callardo Z (ZANG) Winsto (KWPN) Hemmingway (HOLST) John Carr, Co. Donegal Declan Cosgrave Charlene Clingan
=1st Carneyhaugh Quantum (ISH) S Harlequin Du Carel (SF) Carneyhaugh Surprise (ISH) Hampton Clover (ISH) Patrick Breen, Down Carneyhaugh Sport Horses Vincent Byrne
=1st CMS Paparazzi (ISH) M Pacino (BWP) Rockmount Rosie (ISH) Indoctro (HOLST) Ray O’Reilly, Cavan Hilton Sport Horses Clem McMahon
=1st Deep Pockets (ISH) G O.B.O.S. Quality 004 (OLD) Simply Chic (ISH) Cruising (ISH) Charles Pidgeon, Westmeath Jim Derwin Jim Derwin
=1st Graf Balouprint (ISH) M Balou Du Rouet (OLD) Graf Landlady (ISH) Limmerick (HOLST) Brian Livingstone, Down Catherine Thornton & Brian Livingstone Catherine Thornton
=1st LCC Puss N Boots (ISH) G Lux Z (HANN) Spring Pride (WNTR) Spring Elegance (WNTR) Andrew Kirwan, Waterford Linda Courtney Lucy Buchanan
=1st LCC Troy (ISH) G Clinton (HOLST) Ark Of Diamonds (ISH) VDL Arkansas (KWPN) Linda Courtney Cadam, Antrim Linda Courtney Linda Courtney
=1st Mullabrack Royal Pride (ISH) M Aldato (KWPN) Mountain Mist (ISH) Limmerick (HOLST) Cyril Ferguson, Tyrone Alan Harvey Conor McEneaney

6 Year Old Final:


No Horse Sex Sire Dam Sire of Dam Breeder Owner Rider
1st Mini Cruzano (ISH) M Silvano (KWPN) Hyundai Santa Fe (ISH) Cruising (ISH) Oliver Walsh, Galway Leona Walsh Thomas O’Brien
2nd Highly Efficient (ISH) M Shannondale Sarco St Ghyvan (BWP) Derha Fort (ISH) Coolcaum Hill (ID) Senan Canny, Clare Amanda Kirwan Tholm Keane
3rd Mouse C (ISH) M Condios (HOLST) Lux Alize (ISH) Lux Z (HANN) Raymond Devery, Offaly Siobhan Dunne Shane O’Reilly
4th Newmarket Oprah Jewel (ISH) M Newmarket Jewel (WESTF) Oprah (KWPN) Concorde (KWPN) Billy Daly, Cork Michael Murphy Stephen Murphy
5th LCC Hello Kate (ISH) M Luidam (KWPN) LCC Molly (ISH) Courage II (HOLST) Fr Simon Cadam, Antrim Linda Courtney Lucy Buchanan
6th Lenamore Lucy Lou (ISH) M Lux Z (HANN) Going Dutch (ISH) Dutch Courage (ISH) Barbara Fitzpatrick, Dublin Geraldine Graham Kenneth Graham


7 Year Old Final:


No Horse Sex Sire Dam Sire of Dam Breeder Owner Rider
1st Caspian (ISH) G Lux Z (HANN) Thirza (KWPN) Burggraaf (HOLST) Andries De Bont, Cork Allan Davidson Dermott Lennon
2nd Bens Lady Lux (ISH) M Lux Z (HANN) Leading Edge (ISH) Cavalier Royale (HOLST) Ann Marie Blessington, Longford Karen MacKenzie Shannon MacKenzie
3rd Ecclesville (ISH) G Clover Echo (ISH) Maisy (ISH) Tyrone Diamond (ID) Newberry E Wilson, Tyrone Elaine Whiteside Yvonne Whiteside
4th Shenick (ISH) G Lux Z (HANN) Sesario (ISH) Saracen Hill (TB) Lynsey Smith, Dublin Joanne Attley John Floody
5th Almost Persuaded (ISH) M Ard VDL Douglas (KWPN) Lady Dreamer (TB) Brush Aside (TB) Bernard O’Reilly, Cavan James Hogg James Hogg
6th Mise Le Meas (ISH) G Cruise On (ISH) Cissie Lass (TB) Presenting (TB) Michael Smith, Dublin Matthew Birch John Floody