Horse Sport Ireland Announce GAIN Horse Feeds Pony Showjumping Squad

  • 19 July 2016, 16:59

Horse Sport Ireland has confirmed the GAIN Horse Feeds Pony Show Jumping squad for the 2016 European Championships in Aarhus, Denmark from the 17th – 21st August.

The Pony Show Jumping squad in alphabetical order is:

  • Harry Allen – Aughnashammar/Cassandra Van Het Roelhof
  • Adam Carey – Stakkati
  • Jason Foley – Lynncot Fancy Pants (ISH)/More Clover
  • Ciaran Nallon – Dibidoe
  • Abbie Sweetnam – Dynamite Spartacus/Spartacus Reape

The team of four to compete in the Nations Cup will be selected by the Team Manager from these five combinations.

The non-travelling reserves are:

  • Kate Derwin – Vales Blue Melody (ISH)
  • Sean Monaghan – Ballyowen Maybell Molly (CP)

High Performance Pony Show Jumping Team Manager Gary Marshall said

“I am very happy with the team that’s selected to travel to Denmark. These riders have been very consistent throughout our trials and at the shows in Europe. The depth of talented riders this year was incredible I could have had two teams but I can only take one, with that comes disappointment for some. I am really looking forward to the Europeans and feel we have a very good chance of bringing home some medals. I would like to thank all the athletes who took part in our selection program and also to their parents. We, the pony committee, are very aware of all the hard work and commitment that’s involved at this level.”

  • Tags: