Ireland gears up for tonight’s World Nations’ Cup Final clash

  • 26 September 2015, 00:59

NOW one of the remaining eight teams from a starting field of 19 nations, the Irish quartet of Bertram Allen, Greg Broderick, Cian O’Connor and Denis Lynch will do battle tonight (Saturday) in the second round final of the 2015 Nations’ Cup series in Spain.

With over two million euro in prize money at stake, as well as the honour of taking Ireland into the elite group at the top of the leaderboard, Robert Splaine’s team will be under pressure to produce a world-class performance in the season-closer at the Real Club de Polo de Barcelona.

The Irish team is

Bertram Allen (20) from Wexford with Molly Malone V 
(owned by Ballywalter Farms)

Greg Broderick (29) from Tipperary with MHS Going Global (ISH) 
(owned by Caledonia Stables)

Cian O’Connor (36) from Meath with Good Luck
(owned by Adena Springs)

Denis Lynch (39) from Tipperary with All Star 5 
(owned by Thomas Straumann)

All of the surviving eight top teams start on a zero score when the action kicks off in the one-round contest at 8pm Irish time. In the event of a tie, a jump-off will decide the outright winner of the Furusiyya FEI Nations’ Cup Final.

The eight nations that have qualified for Saturday night’s final round are Belgium, Germany, Sweden, Great Britain, USA, Netherlands, Ireland and Switzerland.

For full Nations’ Cup Final rules, broadcast times and prize money click here

Irish team – Bertram Allen, Greg Broderick, Cian O’Connor, Denis Lynch

Irish team – Bertram Allen, Greg Broderick, Cian O’Connor, Denis Lynch