Irish Eventing squad named for 2017 European Championships in Poland

  • 3 August 2017, 15:39

Ireland’s Eventing team manager Sally Corscadden has named a squad of six riders for the 2017 FEI European Eventing Championships which take place at Strzegom in Poland from August 17th – 20th.

(l-r)  Sarah Ennis, Joseph Murphy, Sally Corscadden (team manager), Paul Corson of Dubarry, Trish Ryan and Michael Ryan, pictured at the HSI Senior Eventing final training for the European Championships at Dollanstown in Kilcock, Co Meath (Photo:  David Maher/Sportsfile)

The Irish squad, which is made up entirely of Irish Sport Horses is as follows:

Austin O’Connor with Kilpatrick Knight (ISH (TIH)
Sarah Ennis with Horseware Stellor Rebound (ISH)
Jonty Evans with Cooley Rorkes Drift (ISH)
Joseph Murphy with Sportsfield Othello (ISH) or Gorsehill Pearl (ISH)
Michael Ryan with Dunlough Striker (ISH)
Patrica Ryan with Dunrath Eclipse (ISH)

Irish team manager Sally Corscadden said:
This is my first senior Championships as Irish team manager and I am really looking forward to it. I do know Strzegom pretty well as I won a medal there at underage level. We have a very experienced group travelling to the Championships. Some of our riders had very good results at Badminton this year and we will be hoping to reproduce that form in Strzegom.”

Strzegom is located in south-western part of Poland in the Sudet Mountain foothills and first held international equestrian competitions in 2003.

The FEI European Eventing Championships start with the first of two days of Dressage on Thursday August 17th. The Cross Country phase takes place on Saturday August 19th, followed by the final Show Jumping phase on Sunday August 20th – after which the team and individual medals will be awarded.

  • Tags: