Team Ireland and GAIN Horse Feeds Medal Reception

  • 15 January 2016, 12:40

On Thursday 14th January GAIN Horse feeds and Horse Sport Ireland hosted a medal reception in the Lyrath Hotel, Kilkenny to celebrate the success of Team Ireland Equestrian’s underage Showjumping and Eventing Teams in 2015. Team Ireland Equestrian celebrated no fewer than six European medals in 2015. Greg Broderick Irish international showjumper who was part of the Aga Khan Winning Showjumping team in 2015 was the special guest at the event.

Henry Corbally, Chairman of Glanbia Plc said ’’ Glanbia and GAIN Horse Feeds are very proud sponsors of Team Ireland Equestrian underage show-jumping and eventing teams. They have had a hugely successful year and we were delighted to host this event in recognition of their achievements in 2015. I would like to take this opportunity to wish all Team Ireland Equestrian competitors the very best for 2016.”

James Kennedy Chairman of the HSI Finance Committee presented momentos to the medallists on behalf of Horse Sport Ireland. “These riders have put Ireland up in lights. They and their families deserve huge credit. The high performance structures which are now in place are working well and I want to thank the coaches and the HSI staff for the work they put in to ensure our teams are professionally prepared when they go to these Championships” he said.

Greg Broderick said: “It is every riders dream to jump on an Aga Khan team. To jump a double clear and be on a winning team in my first year was literally a dream come true. Ireland has such talented riders but the sport is not just about that. If I was to give any guidance to these riders the word I would emphasise is communication. Riders need to communicate well with their owners and sponsors and is a skill riders need to constantly work on” he said.

Team Ireland Equestrians medal tally in 2015 included:

– Zara Nelson, Individual Bronze, Pony Eventing

– Tony Kennedy, Suzie Berry, Cathal Daniels, Harold Megahey: Young Rider Eventing, team bronze

– Olivia Roulston, Abbie Sweetnam, Luke Garrigan, Mikey Pender, Pony Showjumping team silver

– Michael Duffy, Eoin McMahon, Jonathon Gordon, Michael G Duffy, Young Rider Showjumping, team bronze

– Anna Carway, Susan Fitzpatrick, Cormac Hanley, Phillip Carway, Junior Showjumping, Team Silver

– Jennifer Kuehnle, Children on Horses, Individual Gold


  • Tags: