RDS National Equestrian Championships commences at Lambertstown YES final

  • 19 August 2021, 11:20

The RDS National Equestrian Championships commenced at Lambertstown Event, Kilmessan, Co Meath on Tuesday 17th August. A combination of over 100 horses and ponies came out to compete for the prestigious championship title. The four qualifying rounds took place throughout the summer  at Tullylish, Scarteen, Forth Mountain and Rincoola.

The objective of the Young Event Horse series is to further develop the natural talents and skills of both horses and riders, through a series of competitions specifically designed towards education, testing, preparation & training in a constructive and progressive manner.

The YES Series aims to develop a system whereby the future event horse is presented to potential buyers from Ireland and abroad to the highest standard and in the most professional manner.

Following the event show secretary and organiser Ms Angela McGahern said ‘The Young Eventhorse Series initiative is now well established in identifying Irish event horses with the potential of becoming 4*/ 5* eventers and judging by the standard of Young horses on show this year the future is bright for the Irish Sport Horse.

We were delighted to get to hold the RDS national championship Young Event Horse finals in Lambertstown this year. The last FEHL final was here in 2011.  A number of horses who campaigned through that final are now competing successfully representing the Irish Sport Horse such as Ballaghmore Class (who recently came 5th in the Individuals in the Olympics and was part of the GBR team winning gold medal in 2020),  Limbo Kaiser, Away Cruising, OBOS Pepper Pot and Tomgar Rembrandt who competing at 3 & 4* level.

The value of the series has been emphasised this year with the 2019 RDS 5 year old winner, Clara’s Olala, finishing 2nd in the CCI3*-S at Kilguilkey while the 4 year old, Future News, was 2nd in the CCI2* at Keysoe.

YES is very appreciative of HSIs support and generous sponsorship. It allows the YES Organisers to acknowledge the input of the breeders, owners and riders by returning all sponsorship to them through our league’.

YES Judge and International Event Rider Caroline Powell said ‘We were particularly impressed with the 4 year old section here today.  Events like this are really important to continue with the progression and education of Irish horses, and to offer international buyers and opportunity to see the standard of the modern eventing horse on offer.’

Once Upon A Time (ISH) by BARELY A MOMENT (TB) out of MONICAS DREAM (ISH) by MALTSTRIKER (KWPN). Owned and bred by Deirdre Connolly and ridden by Alice Copithorne. Pictured with Professor Owen Lewis, RDS President, Nadia Rea, Horse Sport Ireland. Photo credit – Tadhg Ryan & Bit-Media


Full list of winners are featured below:

Junior / Young Rider Event Horse

1st – Grantstown Mr Big (ISH)(TIH) 2014 Gelding by Mr Big Cat (TB) out of Hollyhill Grandpas Pet (RID) by Ard Grandpa (RID) bred by Anne Hussey, owned by John Widger and ridden by Jess Widger

2nd – Mr OBOS Hullabaloo (ISH) 2015 Gelding by O.B.O.S. Quality 004 (OLD) out of KEC Leapalli (ISH) by Aldatus Z (OLD) bred by Anna Kennedy owned by Mary Malone and ridden by Blathnaid Boyd

3rd – Sionia Chelsey (ISH) by Puissance (TIH)(ISH) out of Golden Ace (ISH) by Horace (AA) bred by Orla Hughes owned by Declan Lehy and ridden by Conor Leahy

4th – Lady Craft (TIH)(ISH) 2014 mare by Puissance (TIH) out of Warcraft Kate (TB) by Warcraft (TB) bred by Rosemary Ponsonby, owned by Terry Whyte and ridden by Christopher Whyte.

Five-Year-Old Final YES

1st – Once Upon A Time (ISH) by BARELY A MOMENT (TB) out of MONICAS DREAM (ISH) by MALTSTRIKER (KWPN). Owned and bred by Deirdre Connolly and ridden by Alice Copithorne.

2nd – ROSSMOUNT ALDI HERO (ISH) by CELTIC HERO B Z (ZANG) out of ALDI CLOVER (ISH) by ALDATUS Z (OLD). Ridden and owned by Ciara Power and bred by Michael Griffin.

3rd – BGS BRIGHT SPARK (ISH) by BGS OCEAN VIEW (ISH) out of BGS GREY MIST (TB) by GREAT PALM (USA). Owned and bred by Paddy Byrne and ridden by Thomas Byrne.

4th – PICASSO HVL Z (ZANG) by PINO (KWPN) out of HVL BRIGHT EYES (ISH) by GUIDAM (SF). Owned by Evelyn O’Neill, ridden by Daisy Duggan and bred by Tina McDermott.

4 Year old Final YES

1st DIAMOND MISTRESS (ISH) by DIARADO (HOLST) out of SHES MY MASTER (ISH) by MASTER IMP (TB). Owned and bred by Kate Jarvey and ridden by Sian Coleman.

2nd – Inquisitor (ISH) by Coroner (IRE) (TB) out of Diamond Fleck (ISH) by Coolcorron Cool Diamond (ISH). Bred and owned by Bridget McGing and ridden by Ian Cassells.

3rd – BF Silver Bridge (ISH) , 2017 gelding by Silvano (KWPN) out of My Rochestown Lady (TB) by Beneficial (TB). Bred by John Murphy, owned by Brain Flynn and ridden by Nicola Ennis.

4th – HIDDEN ECLIPSE (ISH) by CHINOOK ECLIPSE (USA) out of TEMPLEBREADY JOCELYN (ISH) by TEMPLEBREADY FEAR BUI (CP). Owned by Trevor Horgan, bred by Caitriona Morrissey and ridden by Louise Codd

5th – KIEF AMAZING MARCO (ISH) by LUIDAM (KWPN) out of CRUISE COUNTESS (ISH) by CRUISE ON (ISH). Owned by Richard Ames, bred by Barbara Bowles and ridden by Laura Birley.

5th – COOLCORRON BEACON HILL(ISH) by NUMERO UNO (KWPN) out of CARROLL EILE (IRE) by CARROLL HOUSE (TB). Owned and bred by David Splaine and ridden by Jessica O’Driscoll

Connemara Performance Hunter Final 5 – 7 years

 1st – Galtee Donald (CP) by Kinvara Boy (CP) out of Bean Uchtair (CP) by Lishmar Shadow (CP). Owned and ridden by Charlotte Mangan and bred by Mick and Chris Hennessy.

2nd – Sleehaun Ninja (CP) by Manninard Abel (CP) out of Rosscon Annabell (CP) by Ashfield Blue Rock (CP). Owned and bred by Gerry Whyte and ridden by Edel Whyte.

3rd – Blackwood Killamaster (CP) by Blackwoodland Rock (CP) out of Derrygeel Molly (CP) by Emoe Berti (CP). Owned by Judy Quirke, bred by Ann Marie Waddock Kelly and ridden by Evie Qurike.

4th – Carraun Ferdy (CP) by Martan Phaidan Mhoir (CP) out of Carraun Sacha (CP) by Glenayre Silver Fox (CP). Owned by Leo Murphy, bred by Niamh Howley and ridden by Gemma Murphy.

 Performance ID Final 4-5years

1st ECHO KING PROSPECT (ID) by ECHO KING (IDC1) out of BOUNCING QUEEN (IDC1) by CLEW BAY BOUNCER (IDC1). Owned by Tanya Bourke, bred by David O’Toole and ridden by James Rochford.

2nd – BECALIDA (IDC1) by SCRAPMAN (IDC1) out of CLOUGHROE FIRST LADY (RID) by CORRAN GINGER (IDC1). Owned and ridden by Lisa Talbot and bred by Valerie J Davis.

3rd – GRAGEELAGH STORMY KING (ID) by ECHO KING (IDC1) out of STORMY MADAM (IDC1) by SIR STORMY BREEZE (IDC1). Owned and bred by Mary Doyle and ridden by Patrick Whelan.

Connemara Performance Hunter Final 8 – 15 yrs

1st – Kilpatrick Cascade (CP) by Moorland Snowy River (CP) out of Kilpatrick Holly (CP) by Monaghanstown Fred (CP). Owned and ridden by Aoife Kirby and bred by Joan Dolan.

2nd – Hollywood Chase Me Charlie (CP) by Murvey Ronan (CP) out of Sunny Dun (CP) by Moy Johnnys Pride (CP). Owned and bred by Deborah McCann and ridden by Ella Stynes.

3rd – Killaneen Boy (CP) by Western Boy (CP) out of Truelight Trixie (CP) by Moorland Snowy River (CP). Owned and ridden by Lucinda Kelly and bred by Stephen O’Beirne.

4th – Dannys Pride (CP) by Fernhill Danny (CP) out of Cora’s Lady(CP) by Village Boy (CP). Owned by Melanie Marnane, bred by Edwin Murray and ridden by Amber Marnane.

Performance ID Final 6 + years

1st = GNEEVE KING WILLIAM (ID) by TREANLAUR ROCKY (IDC2) out of LEONIES LADY (IDC1) by ITS THE QUIET MAN (IDC1). Owned and ridden by Jenny Williams and bred by Leonie Quigley.

2nd = PETERS PRIDE (IDC1) by CASTLEGAR REBEL (IDC2) out of CASTLEGAR STAR (RID) by CRANNAGH HERO (IDC1). Owned by Veronica Agnew, bred by Tom Burke and ridden by Gilly Crawford.

3rd = LACHAIN BLUE BOY (ID) by BLUE RAJAH (IDC1) out of MOORSPARK LEADING LADY (RID) by MOORPARK BOY (IDC1). Owned by Eamonn Darcy, bred by Mr and Mrs Ivan Adams and ridden by Amanda Fahy.







  • Tags: