Splaine names Nations’ Cup squad for Denmark

  • 13 May 2015, 22:18

IRISH show jumping team manager Robert Splaine has announced the Nations’ Cup squad that will compete in Odense, Denmark this weekend.

Ireland’s squad at the three-star show is as follows:

Paul O’Shea/Skara Glen’s Sienna or Skara Glen’s Machu Picchu
Michael Duffy/Cortina 200
Thomas Ryan/Caribo
Capt Geoff Curran/Mullaghbane (ISH)
Capt. Brian Cournane: Javas Keltic Mist (ISH)

Ireland has been drawn tenth to jump of 13 nations taking part on Friday.

Odense is part of the FEI Europe Division Two Nations’ Cup series, and because Ireland is a Division One nation, no points will be accrued. Chef d’Equipe at Odense will be James Tarrant.

On the same day, however, Robert Splaine will oversee Ireland’s bid to gain Furusiyya League points in the five-star Nations’ Cup at La Baule in France.

The squad selected is:

Bertram Allen with Molly Malone
Shane Breen with Goldenhawk
Greg Broderick with MHS Going Global (ISH)
Darragh Kenny with Sans Soucis Z
Cian O’Connor with Good Luck

A team of four will be selected from each squad before the Nations’ Cup at both venues.
Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 10.15.23 pm