Splaine names long list for 2013 European Championships

  • 5 July 2013, 13:19

IRISH show jumping team manager Robert Splaine today (Friday) announced his long list of riders and horses for the European Show Jumping Championships.

The Championships, which last occurred in 2011 at Madrid, take place this year at Herning in Denmark at the end of August.

Splaine, who will select a squad of five from the long list, and ultimately a team of four, said today: “Since we have ten nomination spots I decided to nominate riders for the ten places allowed. All horses have to be qualified and in some cases I have been able to nominate more than one horse per rider.

“However, the squad of five will on the day be allowed to take only two horses each as a maximum.”

The European Championship Long List is, in alphabetical order:

Shane Breen/Balloon and Cos I Can (ISH)
Alex Duffy/Corona 93.
Cameron Hanley/Antello Z
Capt Michael Kelly/Annestown (ISH)
Dermott Lennon/Loughview Lou Lou (ISH) and Hallmark Elite.
Richie Moloney/Ahorn Van De Zuuthoeve  Carrabis Z and Slieveanorra (ISH).
Conor Swail/Lansdowne and Martha Louise
Shane Sweetnam/Amaretto Darco
Niall Talbot/Nicos De La Cense and Loro Piana Cartella.
Billy Twomey/Tinka’s Serenade and Diaghilev

  • Tags: