Horse Sport Ireland confirms Senior Eventing Squad for European Championships at Blair Castle

  • 29 July 2015, 16:38

TEAM Ireland Equestrian Eventing High Performance Manager, Nick Turner has today announced the squad to represent Ireland at the Senior European Championships at Blair Castle in September. The squad of six riders have a wealth of experience between them. Five riders who have represented Ireland at Senior Championship level previously will be joined by 1st timer Padraig McCarthy. A team of four will be selected from amongst the six named riders after the 1st horse inspection at Blair with the other two riders then competing as individuals.

Turner said “I am very grateful to all of the owners for their continued support. Although we are already qualified for the Olympic Games in Rio next year we will be fighting to be in the mix for medals on the Sunday”

European Championship Squad (In alphabetical order):

1. Aoife Clark – Vaguely North  NZL TB 2000 black gelding by Distinctly North out of Silver Plate by Grosvenor. Bred by Glenlogan Park Pty Ltd (AUS). Owner: Henrietta Duchess of Bedford & Jacqueline Norris

2. Padraig McCarthy – Simon Porloe (PZHK) 2000 bay gelding by Sofix out of Babilonia by Czubaryk. Owner: Christopher & Sarita Perkins

3. Austin O’Connor – Balham Houdini (ISH) 2004 bay gelding by Warrenstown You 2 (ISH) out of Mimi (ISH) by Hallo (SF). Breeder: Ronan Tynan, Co. Kilkenny. Owner: Austin O’Connor and Kate Jarvey.

4. Michael Ryan – Ballylynch Adventure (ISH) – 2000 chestnut gelding by Don Juan De La Bouverie (SBS) out of Stanman Girl (TB), by Standaan (TB). Breeder:John B Hughes, Co. Meath. Owner: Carol & Tom Henry & Sheila Foley.

5. Camilla Speirs – Portersize Just A Jiff (ISH) 2000 bay gelding by Crosskeys Rebel (CP) out of Mizen Talent (ISH), by Mizen Melody (TB). Breeder: Philip GL White, Co. Derry. Owner: Bridget & Camilla Speirs.

6. Sam Watson & Horseware Lukeswell (ISH) – 2005 bay gelding by Puissance (ISH) out of Gentle Servant (ISH) by Kings Servant (ISH). Breeder: Teresa Walsh, Co. Kilkenny. Owner: Sam Watson and Horseware Products Ltd.

Reserves (In alphabetical order):

Jayne Doherty – The Only One (ISH)

Joseph Murphy – Sportsfield Othello (ISH)

Patricia Ryan – Dunrath Eclipse (ISH)

Under FEI rules countries can make an initial entry of 18 combinations at nominated entry stage. The other combinations which have been entered are (in alphabetical order):

Aoife Clark – Arco BB

Jonty Evans – Double Dutch

Mark Kyle – Jesmond Justice

Joseph Murphy – Westwinds Hercules (ISH) & DHI Topstory

Austin O’Connor – Morning Venture (ISH)

Michael Ryan – Dunlough Striker (ISH)

Patricia Ryan – Tullineaskey Hi Ho (ISH)

Sam Watson – Horseware Bushman (ISH)

  • Tags: