Irish Show Jumping Squads confirmed for European Championships and Hickstead

  • 20 July 2013, 12:33

IRELAND’S show jumping manager Robert Splaine has announced his squad today (Saturday) for the European Championships, which take place this year at Herning in Denmark at the end of August.

A total of 103 riders from 23 countries have been declared for the Championships, which take place every two years.

The Irish squad, from which Splaine will nominate his eventual team of four is, in alphabetical order:
Shane Breen/Balloon
Cameron Hanley/Antello Z
Conor Swail/Lansdowne
Shane Sweetnam/Amaretto Darco
Billy Twomey/Tinka’s Serenade

Splaine said today: “These are five combinations with good form and I believe they can produce a good performance at Herning.

“Shane Breen and Balloon have been very effective members of three of our top league Nations’ Cups competitions this year, while Cameron Hanley, who has made a remarkable comeback after a two year injury absence, rides AntelloZ. Their most recent successes have been the Wiesbaden Grand Prix and a double clear in the Nations’ Cup at Calgary, which Ireland won.

“Conor Swail and Lansdowne have certainly matured as a combination over the last year and are amongst the top rank. They were part of Ireland’s winning Nations’ Cup five weeks ago in Canada, and last week won the Grand Prix at Spruce Meadows.

“Shane Sweetnam and Amaretto Darco have also been successful in Europe and North America this year and are seasoned members of Ireland’s Nations’ Cup teams throughout the last few years.

“Billy Twomey and Tinka’s Serenade are accomplished international performers, with a wealth of experience and success to their credit, and they competed in the European championships in 2011, the Olympic Games in 2012, and lined out at La Baule and Aachen already this year in Nations’ Cup competition.”

Robert Splaine also confirmed today his squad for the Hickstead Nations’ Cup in England at the beginning of August. Though part of the Furusiyya Nations’ Cup series, Hickstead is a competition at which Ireland has elected not to add points to its league score.

The squad, in alphabetical order, is:
Shane Breen/Cos I Can (ISH)
Trevor Breen /Adventure De Kannan
Capt Michael Kelly/Annestown (ISH)
Niall Talbot/Nicos De La Cense
Billy Twomey/

Splaine will confirm his team of four nearer the date of the competition.

  • Tags: