Irish Show Jumping squad named for British Nations Cup at Hickstead – Live coverage on RTE 2

  • 21 July 2022, 12:24

Irish Show Jumping team manager Michael Blake has named his squad for next Friday’s (July 29th) Longines FEI Nations Cup of Great Britain at Hickstead, which is Ireland’s third points-scoring round in Europe Division 1 and will be shown live on RTE 2 television.

RTE’s live coverage from Hickstead will run from 4pm to 6pm on Friday July 29th on RTE 2 & the RTE Player and will be presented by Ruby Walsh who will be joined in studio by Nicola FitzGibbon and Lt Col Tom Freyne with commentary provided by Brendan McArdle.

The Irish squad, which includes two Irish Sport Horses, for the Longines FEI Nations Cup of Britain in Hickstead is:

(in alphabetical order)

Galway’s Andrew Bourns with Sea Topblue (ISH) – owned by Andrew Bourns & QBS Equestrian LLC
Tipperary’s Shane Breen with Vistogrand – owned by Breen Equestrian
Tipperary’s Trevor Breen with Germaine W – owned by Mandy Hall
Meath’s Alexander Butler with Chilli B – owned by L.C.J. Berben
Kilkenny’s Jack Ryan with BBS McGregor (ISH) – owned by Marguerite Ryan

Ireland began their 2022 Europe Division 1 campaign with a fourth place finish at Sopot in Poland and this was followed by a podium finish on their second outing when finishing third at Rotterdam in The Netherlands. Ireland are one of just two teams (along with France) who still have two opportunities to score points in the race to qualify for the 2022 FEI Nations Cup final in Barcelona. Michael Blake will be aiming for a good result in Hickstead, followed by another strong showing in their home Nations Cup in Dublin for the Aga Khan trophy, in order to see his side finish among the top seven teams who will take their place in the Barcelona finale.

The Irish team overcame heavy rain to win the 2018 Longines FEI Nations Cup of Great Britain with Trever Breen (far left) once again part of the 2022 Irish squad while Michael Blake was assistant manager

Ireland have a strong record in recent years in the British Nations Cup, having won on four occasions this century including 2000, 2001, 2012 and 2018. British Chef d’Equipe Di Lampard has named a strong squad for the home team including World No.5 Ben Maher, Ellen Whitaker, Harry Charles, Jodie Hall McAteer and John Whitaker. Along with Britain and Ireland, the list of Division 1 teams competing at Hickstead also includes Belgium, France, Germany and Sweden.

Michael Blake will confirm his four team members for the Longines FEI Nations Cup of Great Britain following the team draw on Thursday July 28th.

The Irish Show Jumping team is sponsored by The Underwriting Exchange


Sea Topblue (ISH) – 2011 gelding by Chacco Blue (MECKL) out of Sea Top Lady (ISH) by Lux Z (HANN). Breeders: James & John Meade, Co. Clare. Owned by Andrew Bourns & QBS Equestrian LLC

BBS McGregor (ISH) – 2012 gelding by Cardento (HOLST) out of Random Chance (ISH) by Mark Twain (TB). Breeder and Owner: Marguerite Ryan, Co. Kilkenny. Rider: Jack Ryan (IRL).